CANADA in 1898 was not as it is perceived today.

CANADA in 1898 was not as it is perceived today.  
In 1898 The Hudson Bay Company had only recently assigned a great portion of the North American real estate to the British who then created a variety of districts  before they were apportioned to five provinces.  

Both of the Maps above illustrate (1) how the stamp depicted Canada and (2) how British North America actually was organized before it ultimately became Canada.  

Under the the HBC's charter of 1670 King Charles had made the Hudson's Bay Company true and absolute "Lordes and Proprietors" of (Rupert's Land ),which area was defined as --- "all the land that was drained by the rivers which emptied into the Hudson Bay"  This was equal to one million five hundred thousand square miles of land in Quebec, Northern Ontario, Manitoba Saskatchewan and Alberta, and was almost all of western and northern Canada, and equated to more than 60% of the modern nation, when all the Arctic lands were included.
King Charles believed that the land was his to give because no other Christian monarch had claimed it.

By the Deed of Surrender in 1869 the HBC agreed to transfer this immense bequest, that was known as Rupert's Land, back to the crown. In 1870 the territory was incorporated into the new Dominion of Canada. In compensation the HBC received a large sum of money and, as well, other substantial land holdings.

What emerged after this immense negotiation was a collection of Districts:
          - Ungava which would eventually become Quebec
          - Keewatin which became Northern Ontario and Manitoba
         - Athabaska which merged into both Saskatchewan & Alberta
         - Franklin which together with MacKenzie became the Northwest Territories 
Three new districts were also created Alberta, Saskatchewan & Assiniboia, but the provinces would not appear until just before the First World War.